The Lunar Eclipse

This November, on the 8th of Tuesday, we will experience a blood moon eclipse. This natural phenomenon happens when the full moon passes within the Earth’s shadow as it orbits our planet, and is thus hidden from the Sun which usually illuminates it. There is no danger in viewing a lunar eclipse with just your eyes. Enjoy this stunning natural phenomenon!

The following map and time stamps come from Fred Espenak’s article “Total lunar eclipse on November 8, 2022” on the EarthSky website (https://earthsky.org/astronomy-essentials/total-lunar-eclipse-nov8-2022/)

(The following is an excerpt from the article showing the times of the eclipse and map)

This image shows where the November 8, 2022, total lunar eclipse will be visible. Image via Dominic Ford from in-the-sky.org. (From Fred Espenak’s article)

“Total lunar eclipse

A total lunar eclipse will sweep across Asia, Australia, the Americas and the Pacific on November 8, 2022.

Penumbral eclipse begins at 08:02 UTC on November 8 (3:02 a.m. EST).
Partial eclipse begins at 09:09 UTC on November 8 (4:09 a.m. EST).
Totality begins (moon engulfed in Earth’s shadow) begins at 10:16 UTC on November 8 (5:16 a.m. EST).
Totality ends at 11:41 UTC on November 8 (6:41 a.m. EST).
Partial eclipse ends at 12:49 UTC on November 8 (7:49 a.m. EST).
Penumbral eclipse ends at 13:56 UTC on November 8 (8:56 a.m. EST).
Maximum eclipse is at 10:59 UTC on November 8 (5:59 a.m. EST).
Duration of totality is about 85 minutes.”

(Excerpt from the article showing the times of the eclipse)

About Curtis Decker

Happy to be here and to open the library to all in need. I love talking about stories, drawing, farming, and hiking. Come in for books, conversations, and to share in the atmosphere of our historic small town library. A magical place of stories and wonder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.